Infusion-related Vein Collapse

September 7, 2007 at 5:10 pm 2 comments

Now that I know I am signing up for the IVIG long-haul, I have been thinking about the inevitability of vein collapse. Up until my CVID diagnosis last winter, I had always though that collapsed veins were limited to junkies and chemotherapy patients. They occasionally made it difficult for the executioner to find a good place to inject the condemned. They happened to others.

My sister was diagnosed with breast cancer about four years ago and was put on an aggressive and lengthy chemo regimen. Her veins collapsed one by one and she had to get an IV port implanted. The port allowed drugs to be infused close to her heart. The very idea gave me the creeps. I couldn’t imagine having a permanent opening into one of my veins. I had nightmares that someone would try to inject me with Pepsi or whiskey or Drano while I was sleeping. Of course if they were going to do that, a port wouldn’t really make it any easier than doing it with a plain old syringe! It just seemed weird and somehow dangerous.

Now that I have two uneventful infusions under my belt, it looks like I will need one every month for the rest of my life. Over time, losing the use of veins in my arms and legs is no longer a possibility, it is a virtual certainty. Certainly the primary immunodeficiency forums are replete with reports of this problem.

There are several options available to me:

I will weigh the pros and cons over the next couple of years. Hopefully, I won’t need to make a decision for a long time.

Entry filed under: Common Variable Immunodeficiency(CVID), cvid, disease, doctors, Health, immune system, immunodeficiency, IVIG, medicine, Primary Immunodeficiency, Uncategorized. Tags: .

My CT Scan Results or Son of The Blob Clinical Trial for New CVID Drug

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. wrekehavoc  |  February 13, 2008 at 7:16 am

    i, too, now have the veins of a junkie ::sigh:: the one nurse who gives me my IVIG finds my vein every single time; but every time i have had anyone else try to put in an IV, it has been sheer disaster. i’m hoping, too, that i don’t have to make any sort of call on this for a long, long, time…

    Reply
  • 2. lesley  |  March 27, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Just thought i would like to reassure you. i have been a CVID sufferer for 20 years! Receiving IVs every fortnight i still use the veins in my arms, or rather my nurse at the doctors does. It is getting harder but it is possible if you really ensure they are good with the hygeine. I live in England and if they can do it i am sure they can in the USA!!! Yes i shall probably have to use the veins in my legs or have a line in permanently but at least that keeps me vertical. Contact me if you would like any further chats. Lesley
    ljhighfield@hotmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

