IVIG Success

July 22, 2007 at 8:26 pm 1 comment

So I have finally had success with intravenous immunoglobulin infusions. I had a really bad allergic reaction the first time, in March. They found an IgA depleted Ig and pumped me up with steroid and antihistamines. This time I managed the infusion with very few side effects. I had an moderately severe acne outbreak but that was about it. I don’t feel any different yet but the doctor says that it will take a few months to notice a significant difference. My body should immediately be protected from illness, though.

Entry filed under: autoimmune disease, Common Variable Immunodeficiency(CVID), cvid, disease.

Using the Internet for Medical Research, Part 1 My First IVIG Experience

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. James Nabrit  |  July 24, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Take note that there are a number of different brands of IVIG and that they are not the same although they are sometimes prescribed as if they were generic. The different brands of IVIG are not pharmaceutically equivalent. Tell your doctor what brand gave you a problem and what brand helped. I have seen a list of 9 brands and know of two others given to my family member. So there may be more than a dozen different brands, each with it’s own brand name.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

