Getting Worse

August 26, 2007 at 7:56 pm 1 comment

So, I have been experiencing a number of symptoms lately related to my chronic urticaria, I believe, and they seem to be getting worse. Here is a list:

a) I have been taking Zyrtec for my hives. Up until last month, I only needed to take 10 mg. once every 2-3 days to control outbreaks. Now, I am taking the maximum dosage, 10 mg. every 12 hours and I am still having pretty serious outbreaks. Nothing that has necessitated the use of my epi pen yet, but the trajectory is toward less Zyrtec effectiveness. I now supplement with 25 mg. Benadryl and occasionally a Singulair or two.

b) I have several lymph nodes in my underarm, near my sternum and across my chest that are enlarged and painful.

c) I have periodic drenching night sweats

d) My hip joints are inflamed and it has become painful to walk.

e) I have increasing pressure under my lower left ribcage. I am afraid that my spleen is taking over my abdominal cavity.

 I think my immune system is in hyper-drive. I’m not sure if this is related to my recent IVIG infusions. There seems to be a rough correlation between when the infusions started and when these symptoms began. I am wondering if the residual IgA in the Gammagard SD that may be increasing the amount of anti-IgA antibodies in my system. I have a doctor appointment on Thursday. We’ll see what she says.

Entry filed under: allergies, Chronic Urticaria, Common Variable Immunodeficiency(CVID), cvid, hives, immunodeficiency, IVIG, Uncategorized.

Other CVID Bloggers What is IgA and Why Don’t I Like It?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. lynn  |  August 30, 2007 at 5:35 pm

    hi, just a bit of sympathy. i’m sorry you’re having such a difficult time with the urticaria. i’ve had chronic idiopathic urticaria and angioedema for almost twenty years. it’s a pain in the butt. i’ve taken zyrtec for almost as long. 10mg a day. i mostly get breakouts from pressure–like clothes or shoes rubbing–or anything like that, kneeling, sitting on a hard surface. it’s crazy. i don’t “know” anyone else that goes thru this and this is the first time i’ve responded to anything i’ve seen online. and i don’t really know how this blogging thing works. so anyway, good luck and i am sending good thoughts and prayers your way. take care. lynn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

