Will My Kids Get CVID?

September 1, 2007 at 9:44 pm 1 comment

If you have concerns about whether you will pass CVID to your children, read this great, easy-to-read primer on genetics and CVID inheritance.

 Key Points:

  • Only 10-20% of people with CVID have genes that have been identified by researchers as contributing to the condition.
  • Most people with CVID probably have multiple genetic defects which contribute to their symptoms and the probability of inheritance in difficult to predict.
  • CVID may be related to multiple environmental factors as well.

According to the author, CVID is a “multifactorial” condition that may often involve multiple, interacting genetic and environmental factors. Thus, determining whether CVID will be inherited is very difficult.

Entry filed under: Common Variable Immunodeficiency(CVID), cvid, disease, genetics.

Why Don’t Spleens Actually Have Vents? One Potential Genetic Cause of CVID

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. ITP AND CVID  |  September 29, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    I’ve read all of your entries. Some have been very helpful. I was diagnosed with ITP – Ideopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura in December 2005 and then CVID in October 2006. I’ve been on IVIG for 12 months (started out 5 days per month – now it is down to 3). My trouble is the ITP which causes the platelets to destroy themselves – and in between IVIG I must still take steroids. My hope is to get rid of the ITP and of course if I didn’t have CVID they would have removed my spleen. Incidentally, they did every test and CT scan on me too and found nothing – thank goodness.

    After reading this article, I will definitely have my children tested. I am also IgA deficeint. I’ve dragged my feet on this – but I guess I should. Thanks for the info. Best of luck to you.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2007
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930